~~~ Our Members' Open Range Coaches ~~~
Click HERE for the Home Page Scrolling Photos
Open Range RV Owners Forum




~ Upcoming Open Range RV Owners Forum Rallies ~

->> 2018 Texas Rally - May 6-11 - Kerrville, TX ~~ 2018 Coming Home Rally - June 4-10 - Goshen, IN ~~ 2018 Northeast Wine Campout - Sept 19-23 - Bath, NY
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:26 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 9:22 am 
Offline
Forum Host
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:41 am
Posts: 1205
Location: NE Florida
OR Year: 2012
OR Model: 345RLS-Sold
Member ID: ORF-0003
CCPLady wrote:
Russ,

I don't suppose you're staying until Dec 18th are you? ( nobody laugh, some people do stay for many weeks.) We're heading back and would love to know how to pull this off. We've clearly only spoken to less-than-experienced techs, and we're not techie enough to figure it out ourselves.

Unfortunately we leave FW on the 5th to head to the Daytona area, we will be home around the 11th.

You said you took your router from home and it didn't work, who is your Internet Service Provider (ISP) at home? If it is not a cable company (ex. Comcast) your router from home is probably not setup to connect/communicate with the Cable modems at Disney and if you changed its configuration to work at Disney you would need to configure it back to work at home. That is why I decided to just purchase my DLink DIR-815. When I purchased mine they were only $47 dollars it looks like they are closer to $80 now. I purchased it knowing it was only going to be used (work) at Fort Wilderness as they are the only campground I have been in that uses a Cable Modem infrastructure to provide internet and Cable TV to all their sites. Since we go to FW often it was easy for me to justify the purchase and the router just stays in our coach.

_________________
- Russ
(forum host)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 6:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 2:07 pm
Posts: 6546
Location: Nazareth, PA
OR Year: 2014
OR Model: 427BHS
Member ID: ORF-3771
:like This forum needs a like button.

_________________
Mark
2014 Open Range 427BHS
2011 Ford F-350 Crew Cab 6.7L Powerstroke Diesel
Pullrite Superglide 18K
Firestone Ride Rite Airbags
Furrion Wireless Observation Camera
TST 510 TPMS
Maxxis M8008s


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 1:51 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Lubbock, TX
OR Year: 2014
OR Model: RF338RLS
Member ID: ORF-3444
I like most everything on this site!!!

_________________
ACPC
West Texas Hub City
2015 RAM 3500 Laramie Mega Cab SB SRW 4x4 6.7L Diesel, Aisin, 3.42 axle,
B&W Turnover Ball Gooseneck Hitch #1314


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 11:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:08 am
Posts: 847
Location: Long Island, NY
OR Year: 2015
OR Model: 384BHS
Member ID: ORF-5854
rgrimm wrote:
CCPLady wrote:
Shogunles wrote:
The only campground where a router will work is Ft. Wilderness, Disney. They give you a wired modem, not WIFI, for their cable service. From there you can connect your own personal router for WIFI signal. I have not done this personally yet. However, I am told it does work.


We camp at Ft. Wilderness frequently and tried several times to pull this off. On a couple of occasions I brought my laptop and router, but the Disney system will not allow you to set up a wireless hotspot. I spoke with different tech support staff each time and they all said their protocols block this.

Do a search on you tube. I recall seeing a very pricey hardware and software package which claimed to do this, but it was about $900 or so if I remember correctly.

We have been going to Fort Wilderness about 3 times a year since 2012 and have always connected my own DLink router to Fort Wilderness's (free to use during my stay) cable modem. It has always worked for me to give me WiFi in and around my RV for all my wireless devices. The DIR-815 DLink router I use for my trips to Fort Wilderness cost about $47. I was just at FW in mid-October and my router worked as it always has. I will be at FW on Sunday (11/29) and already have my router setup in my RV ready to connect to the Cable Modem I will pickup at the Meadow Trading Post in FW.


Thank you I will give it a try! We are not back there until April 2016! And we stay many weeks! No more than 3! After 26 hours driving a week does not seem worth it! Thanks again!

_________________
2015 Roamer 384BHS
2012 Ford F 350 6.7l TD CC SB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 11:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 2:07 pm
Posts: 6546
Location: Nazareth, PA
OR Year: 2014
OR Model: 427BHS
Member ID: ORF-3771
26 straight through, les?

_________________
Mark
2014 Open Range 427BHS
2011 Ford F-350 Crew Cab 6.7L Powerstroke Diesel
Pullrite Superglide 18K
Firestone Ride Rite Airbags
Furrion Wireless Observation Camera
TST 510 TPMS
Maxxis M8008s


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:59 pm
Posts: 4739
Location: West Monroe LoUiSiAna hometown of Duck Dynasty
OR Year: 2009
OR Model: JF335BHS
Member ID: ORF-0013
BCM wrote:
:like This forum needs a like button.



Anybody notice the new like button :like

Thanks to Russ most likely ;-)

_________________
Bill & Shirley
USAF 1958-1962


09 Open Range JF335BHS ser # 750
Furrion RV cam / TST-TPMS
02 F250 7.3 PSD CC SB XLT Lariat


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:08 am
Posts: 847
Location: Long Island, NY
OR Year: 2015
OR Model: 384BHS
Member ID: ORF-5854
BCM wrote:
26 straight through, les?


Quoting my wife, 'I am a Moran!!!' Yes I tend to drive straight through! 26 is my record. I have 2 little ones, so we leave NY around 9 pm. SO they usually sleep until I get to Northern NC. Then continue on. We usually get to FL at around 1 am. And our first stop is my Inlaws House north of Tampa. So no worries about check in at the campground.

Last year, we went from Disney to Key West. Which I recommend do to at least once! We stayed at Boyds on Stock Island. About 5 miles from Duval St. Beautiful place. The sites are small, which is the norm down there. The closer you get to Key West, the smaller the sites. However, the opportunity cost is the beautiful scenery and proximity to the waterfront. Wonderful place IMO. I just wanted to add this as it is 15* tonight! Wishful thinking!

Anyway, we left from Key West back to NY. It took us 36 hours. However, I did stop for about 3 hours to sleep. Not worth risking what I have sitting next to me and in the back seat! Surprisingly, I was fine when I got home. We do the NY to Disney, or Inlaws House twice a year for the last 10 years. So I am used to the drive by now.

Apologies for not replying to your post until now. Be well, and Happy New Year!

_________________
2015 Roamer 384BHS
2012 Ford F 350 6.7l TD CC SB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 9:42 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Florida
OR Year: 2016
OR Model: OR 295FBH
Member ID: ORF-9717
This is what you need:
Pick higher power or smaller unit:
https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-NanoSta ... station+m2

https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-NanoSta ... station+m2

This will pickup a free wifi signal and allow one wired device to connect, so I made the device this Access Point that snaps into the nanostation's power supply.

https://www.amazon.com/Ubiquiti-airGate ... S0ZWH6S92M

The nanostation has the radio and antenna in the same, weatherproof unit so there is no signal loss because there is no coax. You run a CAT5 cable from the power supply, which is a PoE injector.

This gear is not a simple plug and play setup, but can be setup by someone with moderate home networking knowledge. The nanostation is very powerful so do not have or cell phone right in front the unit. There are videos online showing how to setup for a traveler's needs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:34 pm
Posts: 13
Location: NB. Canada
OR Year: 2015
OR Model: LF311FLR
Member ID: ORF-12178
Twain. Thankx for the recent post.

_________________
2016 F-150 Ecoscrew with B&W turnover ball and BX1 Gooseneck coupler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:42 am
Posts: 3410
Location: Mesa, AZ
OR Year: 2016
OR Model: 319RLS
Member ID: ORF-7680
I finally got my trailer router & repeater up and running. I checked the speed test on buckhorn 4 and then again with buckhorn4 via my network. There was no difference in speed. Probably the only plus is that some parks will limit how many MAC addresses (devices) you have. With your own network you have up to 250 devices, of coarse it would be very slow network.
Looks like I'll try something else.

_________________
Earl & Elaine, Mesa Arizona, 16 LT319RLS 5'ver,
15 Ram 2500 4X4 C/cab 6.7 Diesel, Std Bed, B&W 16K Hitch,
2 Honda EU2000i, TST07SE TPMS, Titan Disc Brakes, Dish Sat, Visio 48" TV, M/R SRE4000 3 X-members, HD Shackles, Carlisle Tires.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:44 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Nashvegas
OR Year: 2014
OR Model: 319RLS
Member ID: ORF-6305
I have both a cellular and WIFI booster in my bag of tricks. Normally, one or the other comes through, but sometimes, both are very slow and I have to look for the nearest WIFI friendly business. :D :shock:

_________________
Clark
2014 RAM 2500 Diesel, 16K Husky Hitch
2014 LF 319RLS
http://tennesseetraveller.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:44 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Nashvegas
OR Year: 2014
OR Model: 319RLS
Member ID: ORF-6305
Shogunles wrote:
The only campground where a router will work is Ft. Wilderness, Disney. They give you a wired modem, not WIFI, for their cable service. From there you can connect your own personal router for WIFI signal. I have not done this personally yet. However, I am told it does work.


Last year, I believe that they converted to WIFI only. It was surprisingly very fast.

https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/guest ... et-access/

_________________
Clark
2014 RAM 2500 Diesel, 16K Husky Hitch
2014 LF 319RLS
http://tennesseetraveller.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:09 am
Posts: 4
OR Year: 2018
OR Model: RF371MBH
Member ID: ORF-13824
Having a router comes in handy when using your phone as a remote control. I use it with DirecTV. If you have a TV that connects to your network it will control that also.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group