~~~ Our Members' Open Range Coaches ~~~
Click HERE for the Home Page Scrolling Photos
Open Range RV Owners Forum

~ Upcoming Open Range RV Owners Forum Rallies ~

->> 2018 Texas Rally - May 6-11 - Kerrville, TX ~~ 2018 Coming Home Rally - June 4-10 - Goshen, IN ~~ 2018 Northeast Wine Campout - Sept 19-23 - Bath, NY
It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:36 am 

OR Year: 2017
OR Model: 3X397FBS
Member ID: ORF-11871
We have a 2017 397FBS and Monday morning i was going up the steps to the bedroom and was greeted with a heavy burning electrical smell coming from the front 13.5K unit (I'm a general contractor and have smelled/seen enough burned electrical equipment in 20+ years on the the job). Immediately I cut the tstat and breaker off and called a mobile tech. He arrived at the end of the day and checked both RTU's and advised he couldn't see any sign of heating up or burning or burning smell on either unit. He said "just run the unit, I can't find anything.". Within minutes the smell was back and overpowering so I got out my IR temperature gauge I use to check tires and found the back unit pumping out 65* air but the front was 83*! After a call to the tech he said he would call Dometic and get a new unit ordered under warranty. That's all fine and good but what if I wasn't there to catch it and shut it down? If we had not been there it may have eventually started burning and with my two little dogs inside, well, you get the picture.....