~~~ Our Members' Open Range Coaches ~~~
Click HERE for the Home Page Scrolling Photos
Open Range RV Owners Forum




~ Upcoming Open Range RV Owners Forum Rallies ~

->> 2018 Texas Rally - May 6-11 - Kerrville, TX ~~ 2018 Coming Home Rally - June 4-10 - Goshen, IN
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:44 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:09 am
Posts: 4
OR Year: 2018
OR Model: RF371MBH
Member ID: ORF-13824
Ok, I'm still learning about my 2018 Roamer RF371MBH and I have a satellite question:

I have a Directv HD antenna set up on a tripod and run the cable to the satellite install area to Satellite #1. Got everything aimed and setup for the TV in the living area. Went fine. Now I purchased a SWM splitter and hook up Satellite #2. Great, TV in extra bedroom works. Now this is where I started questioning myself. The camper has 5 locations for the satellite but only 3 hookups. I'm interested in setting up the outside connection that's in the storage unit. If i wanted all five connections hooked up, how would I?

I use the cable connection from the storage area to get local OTA channels But I want satellite outside also. I have to get another Sat box for the outside so I haven't tried the outside hookup yet. Are there Satellite splitters installed somewhere?

-thanks. tom


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 8:42 am
Posts: 3283
Location: Mesa, AZ
OR Year: 2016
OR Model: 319RLS
Member ID: ORF-7680
I guess you you could run a coax on the ground and come up thru the hole in the floor of the storage area and plug directly into the TV, that's what I do.
One thing I know for sure is not all coax is a continue piece, sometimes it is sliced and may be sliced to a different color coax. Mt RV has 4 different color coax, black, white, orange and gray. My Sat1 starts out white in the convenience center and the other end behind the entertainment center is black. I have heard of splitters being used, the only way to find out is do a continuity test from end to end and label them. My Sat3 has on cable on it so it was a unused port.
I forgot to mention some of the coax could be cheap RG6 or just RG59 coax. Some people like myself found out that HD Satellite TV may not work on some of the cheap coax. I had to have some of mine replace with high quality coax when I switched from Directv SD to Dish HD, most of my HD channels would not come in until I upgraded the coax.

_________________
Earl & Elaine, Mesa Arizona, 16 LT319RLS 5'ver,
15 Ram 2500 4X4 C/cab 6.7 Diesel, Std Bed, B&W 16K Hitch,
2 Honda EU2000i, TST07SE TPMS, Titan Disc Brakes, Dish Sat, Visio 48" TV, M/R SRE4000 3 X-members, HD Shackles, Carlisle Tires.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group